PDA

View Full Version : Fixing LCA suspension geometry after lowering

StimulisRK
02-15-2012, 01:57 PM
I've been reading up alot more on suspension design, and how lowering affects your car overall.

A big thing is the LCA angles - at stock height the LCA angles are angled downward from the center of the car to the ground. Lowering with new springs/coilovers, changes these angles the lower you go; most springs/coilovers change these angles so the LCA's are now angled upward.

1. Why specifically is it bad/not desired to have the LCA's angled up?
2. - Are aftermarket control arms somehow designed to account for this angle change in their geometry? (idk if that's
possible)
- If not possible, is the only way to correct this is to NOT lower your car?
3. What are the long term affects on the LCA's from this?

Thanks for any info, i'm really new to this and wanna learn more

Hasbro
02-15-2012, 02:49 PM
The more the lca is angled up after the "even" point, the more negative camber diminishes , which means less cornering grip. On unequal double a arms the negative camber continues to increase.

For performance you can increase the spring/damper to the point that they travel less which can reduce the lca angle. I'm talking very stiff, though..

Longer aftermarket ball joints act as if the lca isn't lowered quite as much. Also increasing caster can help. Caster gives you more camber in corners and can allow for less static camber which can improve straight line accelleration and braking.

I'm not too worried about the loss of camber from lca angle anymore as there are lots of benefits to be gained from intelligently lowering the EP/DC5. It is a problem, however, if you want to fit in a designated racing class.

Some decent reads:

http://forums.clubrsx.com/showthread.php?t=717355

http://www.motoiq.com/tech/the_ultimate_guide_to_suspension_handling.aspx

http://forums.clubep3.com/showthread.php?t=569763

StimulisRK
02-15-2012, 03:34 PM