PDA

View Full Version : Engine build questions.

Powers
03-14-2012, 10:45 PM
So as some of you know I am a newbie to hondas. I've been going back and forth on which way Id like to go for my ep like should I boost it or should I do a all motor build. From the searching I did it seems like a k24 is really the best platform to start out with. So ill probably start searching for a k24a1/a2. I know I'm going to absolutely need kpro, no if ands or buts. My ultimate goal would be to have about 250-275 whp and as much torque as I can get.

So back to the boosted or all motor thing. Which one would give the best to go with as far as torque is concerned? Personally im really leaning towards the all motor build. So I plea to the k24 gurus....help me please.

Ba82Ep3
03-14-2012, 10:57 PM
K24a1 block/crank.
k24a2 rods/wristpins
k24z7 pistons/ringset (11.0:1)
k20z3 head (complete)
RRC IM/Hybrid Racing 70mm TB (port matched)
Hytech header
JRSC @8psi

Build it with all OEM components and enjoy 350+whp. Add the $ up and cry... lol

Ba82Ep3
03-14-2012, 11:02 PM
Yeah all of that is close to $7k -/+ sourcing some used parts. Then you gotta have a trans to make use of it. Thats another couple G's.

You can drop $10k in a nice k swap easily...

Powers
03-14-2012, 11:02 PM
K24a1 block/crank.
k24a2 rods/wristpins
k24z7 pistons/ringset (11.0:1)
k20z3 head (complete)
RRC IM/Hybrid Racing 70mm TB (port matched)
Hytech header
JRSC @8psi

Build it with all OEM components and enjoy 350+whp. Add the $ up and cry... lol

Just the guy I was hoping would tune in! I hear ya on the money and crying. Thats how it was when I started looking at the reciepts after I did the Small Block Chevy and 700r4 to my Jeep Wrangler. But 350+whp is overkill for me. I have no need or want for all that power.

Ba82Ep3
03-14-2012, 11:05 PM
Then drop $3k off the list and about 50+whp. That setup without the JRSC would still be a beast... prolly everybit of 300whp/230wtq.

Powers
03-14-2012, 11:12 PM