PDA

View Full Version : Lowering spring install

tbotjones
04-19-2012, 09:16 PM
I have an 04 ep3 and I'm planning on putting these skunk2 springs in this weekend. I've never done it before so if anyone knows of an in depth DIY video it would be greatly appreciated. I got the springs for free so I'm just kinda doin it for the hell of it until I have enough for some coil overs

05EPz3
04-20-2012, 07:40 AM
A couple things to remember when doing this:

1.) The axle will pop out of socket if you don't have some type of rope or bungy cord that will hold the axle, hub, caliper and so on when you unbolt the two bolts and start to pull the spring and strut out.

1.5) You do NOT need to break loose the lower ball joint.

2.) Of course you will need to break the tie rod loose and I just hammered on the tie rod mount(the arm that sticks out from the strut) and it just popped right out. However you may need a tie rod fork/remover.

2.5) This is basically a two person job lol I done it by myself and it was a pain in the ass...

3.) You don't really need a spring compressor, however there will be a little bit of pressure when you take off the nut on top of the strut so keep one hand on the tophat. It really helps if you have a set of those socket hex sets in millimeters to put into the strut and then use a wrench to break loose the bolt on the strut.