PDA

View Full Version : Weird idle - P0505 & P1457

larryo108
07-08-2012, 12:15 PM
I have a 2003 Honda Civic Si with almost 170,000 miles. I need some help from the gurus. My car has been idling weird. Surging up to 2k RPM at times. Most of the time it bounces between 1.5k and the stock 850 RPM. I was first getting the P0505 code and I have been battling it for a couple of months. First I tried to clean the IACV and it helped a little, but after a day or so, the idle problems started again.

Last weekend I repalced the damn IACV. In addition to the IACV, I replaced the PCV elbow and the rubber vac lines to the EVAP canister from the throttle body and the motor. I also replaced the coolant lines to the throttle body because the previous owner had bypassed it. I am trying to keep the motor stock because this is my DD.

The same thing happened. It worked for a day or so, but now I am throwing the P0505 code AND the P1457 code. I have continued to try to research what more I need to do. I am going to double-check all of my connections and make sure the throttle cables do not need to be adjusted. Both things I have read. I also read about the P1457 and read that it is usually because of the gas cap. However, that would be a hell of a coincidence given that I just messed around with the connections on the EVAP canister. So I am going to start by checking those connections.

At the same time, my AC has started blowing hot air at times. It will start cold then eventually start blowing hot air. I can turn off the AC for a couple of minutes and then get cold air for a little longer. I do not know if this is connected, but I figured I would throw it in. I am going to be recharging the system today as well.