PDA

View Full Version : Buying used brakes [calipers/kits] pros/cons

bung
10-14-2012, 09:43 PM
Hi guys,

I am very new to the car modifying scene and have only one local enthusiast friend whos helping me. He doesn't like the idea of buying used Brembos, but the $3000k it would cost me for a brand new kit up here in canukistan is a bit steep for me right now and I wanted to ask yall as well.

I have the freedom to look at used of course and I've found some used front and rear brembo calipers for sale, supposedly with about 50,000km. I clearly would buy some new rotors/pads, and I don't mind doing any piston re-greasing or whatever brembo maintenance requires, but do you all have any ideas of things to look out for buying used calipers? rubbing on rims? anything else? I just don't have the sense yet of what needs to be new and what can be used (if anything).

Thanks much

poeticfinesse21
10-14-2012, 09:58 PM
Look into getting a wilwood 4-piston big brake kit, they go for about $620 new here in the states. I know corsport carries the kit but I don't know about shipping to canada. Unless you're building a straight up race car it's really not necessary to upgrade the rear calipers, some stainless steel brake lines and better pads should be enough.

Her-Name's-Ally
10-15-2012, 06:15 AM
usually people have to run spacers with the brembos...from what I've seen on here and CEP3.

bung
10-15-2012, 08:57 AM
yea ive noticed that as well for most people with 17"s, up to even 12mm i think ive seen. I dont have restrictions for fitting over OEM or anything, probly just buy larger winter rims as well. Not many people with 18s eh? wouldnt think you'd need spacers on 18s.

Her-Name's-Ally
10-15-2012, 09:05 AM