PDA

View Full Version : Suspension questions.... Trying to research

dble0
11-30-2012, 11:09 PM
I will whole heartedly admit I am a noob, so bare with me. I have a pretty stock EP and I am trying to make my wish list for car upgrades.

First question: I keep hearing talk about pillow ball mounts versus some other alternative mount. What is the difference between the two, why would I want one or the other and what are the main benefits of each.

Second question: what exactly is the benefit of adjustable dampners? Why would I potentially want adjustable versus non adjustable.

Third question: does an electronically adjustable coil over exist, one in which you can adjust the height electronically and will it fit on an EP3?

Once again I apologize for my noobness. But we all must start somewhere.

dble0
12-01-2012, 12:24 PM
Bump

Her-Name's-Ally
12-01-2012, 12:32 PM
to answer the 2nd question having adjustable dampening is yolked for multiple reasons.
1st you can adjust the stiffness according to ride height. the lower you are the stiffer you want to be cause there less upward travel. if you're higher you can be softer so you dont feel every bump in the road. if you go you the track theres not pot holes every where so you can stay nice and stiff. Having the option is awesome.

3rd question
electronic ride height I think would be like air bags. dont know too much about it but people dont do it for a reason. on your wishlist should be a nice set of coilovers even if you dont plan to track its very comfortable and reliable.

Her-Name's-Ally
12-01-2012, 12:43 PM
and to my knowledge the pillowball mounts help with like steering responsivenss.

mitchlikesbikes
12-01-2012, 12:57 PM
tein produces electronically adjustable coils but the adjustment is for the dampening (stiffness) not ride height.

dble0
12-01-2012, 03:32 PM
I have seen electronic ride height adjustment kits for BMW that weren't airbags. Just wondering if they make a similar kit that will fit an EP.