PDA

View Full Version : A few misc questions while tearing into my motor

s10blazed
01-03-2013, 08:29 AM
I consider myself a shade tree mechanic. I'm no pro, but when my car breaks I learn what I need to fix it.

So I put my new knowledge to use but still come up with some questions.

First off, is the valve cover gasket re-usable? Mine looks pristine but the manual I'm using says to replace it. There is no noticeable tears or scratches in it. Unless there is a specific reason to replace it, I will be re-using it.

Next, does the harmonic balance/crankshaft pulley usually have rubber 'wings' on the back. I know there is a layer of rubber as part of the pulley. But mine looks like it is coming out of the back. I did use some heat to remove the bolt but the rubber doesn't look melted. It looks aged and cracked and warped but still tight. I'll post a picture soon as I know it is worth 1,000 words.

Finally, the timing chain cover seals... what is the recommended way to prep it for the liquid gasket. Should I use a fine sand paper and lightly hit the edges? Leave them alone and pick off the old gasket? Sand it smooth? What about those gaskets in there? Should those be replaced too? My block is covered in oily grease around this seal so I would like to prevent it from leaking.

I hope to hear some advice. I've been reading up but these just didn't come up specifically.

Draw7Seven
01-03-2013, 09:22 AM
I'd definitely buy a new valve cover gasket as a sort of insurance policy. Every time I've read a post about cracking off the VC I see a veteran saying "don't forget to put in a new gasket." However I can't speak from first-hand experience so if you can afford to, wait for more replies. I'm not sure about the other two issues, but good luck!

Ba82Ep3
01-03-2013, 11:19 AM
1) Pic of the harmonic balancer.