PDA

View Full Version : Question on installing a BassLink

JLannoo
02-01-2003, 05:07 PM
I just ordered a Basslink. I paid $265 shipped. I know,I know they have it on Ebay a bit cheaper yadda yadda LOL

Anyways,do I have to run a power line right from the battery?

I already have a power wire going back there for my Sirius radio tuner. Its 3/4 assed from the front power port till I wire it better this spring. Its just too cold out right now to spend much time on it.

What I did was buy one of those ciglighter power extention cords for $3.50,and cut one end off...it looks better then it reads. Wires are hid untill right where it plugs in and it took 3min to install.

Can I just share that power with the basslink,or not. I'm a real novice with subs

CleanBlackSi02
02-03-2003, 11:37 AM
Anybody have any experience with one of these? I was thinking about getting one to boost the stock receiver...

Surprise
02-03-2003, 04:47 PM
You mean like this post (http://ephatch.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=6983)

JLannoo
02-03-2003, 07:47 PM
Originally posted by Surprise
You mean like this post (http://ephatch.com/forum/showthread.php?threadid=6983)

Yea I did search and read your post. I just wanted to know if I had to run it from the battery or if I could run it off...for example the cig lighter.

Surprise
02-04-2003, 01:53 PM
According to the instruction manual the max current for the amplifier is 12 amps. At the moment I can't remember but I think that the cig lighter is rated at 10 amps max. Add the max current draw of the amplifier with the sat radio tuner and you will have to be replacing a lot of fuses. So to answer your question, yes you will have to run a wire from the battery to the sub. The good news is that with only 12 amps of draw you can get away with using a 10 gauge power wire (easier to hide and might be small enough so that you don

JLannoo
02-04-2003, 03:42 PM
Thank you Sir :)

JLannoo
02-11-2003, 08:57 PM