PDA

View Full Version : Tons O Suspension Questions

TrippZ
02-15-2003, 10:16 AM
:X I have alot of suspension Questions... here we go...

1) What is the difference between a rear strut bar, front strut bar, and tie bars?

2) With a spring drop how long will it take before the shocks blow?

3) Could I get a good replacement at like autozone? (shocks i mean)

4) What is EVERYTHING oyu need to do when you drop a car? like what are all the steps you need to do, like springs, shocks, camber kit, etc etc

5) alot of people are talking about getting sway bars for the type s, what is a sway bar? where do i put it? why is the type s a good bar?

AkronSi
02-15-2003, 12:08 PM
I'm no expert but here it goes:

1.) The strut tower bars connect the struts together at the tops. The tie bars go across the bottom. I think you can only get a rear tie bar. It helps to brace the frame. For the front you'd need a sub-frame X brace.

2.) Don't know about the shocks. I've nevered had a lowered car before. I think this has be discussed quite a bit this summer. You might want to do a search for springs and check out some of the older posts.

3.) Once again I don't know.

4.) Ditto

5.) The reason a lot of people talk about the type-s bar is becasue it is cheap and well made (OEM). And, it will help to tighten your car up so that it won't oversteer as much.

Maybe some of the suspension experts or autocrossers will respond to this.

SeatownEP02
02-15-2003, 12:54 PM
heres a how to for springs
http://ephatch.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7153

gpt
02-15-2003, 01:47 PM
I'l anser 5 'cos I just put on e on my car :D

A rear sway bar is a bar that links the left and right suspension together, this causes the compression of the suspension due to cornering to be reduced by spreading the load to the unloaded wheel in a corner.