PDA

View Full Version : RevHard turbo in production. Questions?

PAsi
02-27-2003, 06:42 PM
I just saw this on RevHard's website:
"WHAT'S NEW FOR 2003

Civic SI 2002-up Now in production and pending CARB legality.
Call now to get the SPECIAL Introductory Price of $3999."

I'm new to the whole import scene and am wondering what the turbo replaces. I heard there is no need for a header so I'm not bothering on upgrading that. What else don't I need to bother to upgrade that will be useless if I buy a turbo? I haven't modded anything yet but plan on Hondata heatgasket, Comptech Icebox, Maybe comptech or hks hi-power exhaust. And does anyone know how reliable RevHard is?

chet
02-27-2003, 06:58 PM
I posted a thread in the Engine forum entitled "Are you Jonesing for Turbo?" Check it out. I am waiting for more feedback.

What do you know about RevHard? Have they put good kits together in the past? I have no knowledge on this at all.

--Chet

PAsi
02-27-2003, 07:02 PM
i know absolutely nothing about turbo in general.

chet
02-27-2003, 07:24 PM
We ride in the same boat my friend. But I think we are in the right place to learn.

Tekdemon
02-28-2003, 04:23 AM
From what I understand the quality levels go something like:
Super Expensive Custom setup with the best components possible that you spend years and years tuning to optimal power and reliability
HKS kits
Greddy
Apexi/RevHard/DRAG/other well known companies
The rest...

I'm probably missing a couple big players though...

Personally I'm much more willing to trust HKS...after all, they are the company that actually invented the first consumer bolt-on turbo for a non-turbo car =P

chet
02-28-2003, 12:13 PM
Thanks for the info Tekdemon. I hadn't really heard anyone say who the best was. But HKS seems to have the edge there! I posted the info I received from AfterHourz Racing in my "Are you Jonesing for Turbo?" -- Engine forum.

rhs29
02-28-2003, 03:34 PM