Close

1st legitimate newbie thread...I think

So...

I noticed the other threads in the newbie sections were just making fun of typical newbie questions, so let me be the first to ask a real question (or two or three).

Let me start off by saying that I'm pretty new to the scene and a late bloomer.My 04 Si is the first new car I've ever owned and I love it.

So, spring is fast approaching here in New England and my tax return should be coming in soon, so I was thinking about getting some new wheels to replace the stockies.

I think I want to get some 17s instead of the 16s I have now.

I share the car with my fiance, so I want to keep the same wheel aspect as to not screw too much with the speedometer, and I want summer tires that aren't going to drive like total crap in wet weather. I also would rather have tires that don't wear too too quickly. I would like to get sportier tires but I don't need anything ultra high performance. I know it's a lot of demands, any suggestions?

Also, to keep the same wheel ratio should I go for 205/50/17 or 215/45/17? I don't plan on dropping the car so I thought the 50's might fill up just a little more space. I actually don't think the wheel gap is too bad on the 04 with the 16s it comes with.

Any suggestions for a newb?

Welcome to the board.

How much do you want to spend on wheels/tires? I'd say go for a good
    all season Bridgestone (do they still make the S-03s?) or Michelin
    Pilots if you want a good set of all-season tires. There's a few
    threads in the "Suspension" forum that have some good info on what
    tires are good for what situation. Browse through there (I would
    say SEARCH, but you seem like a good n00b ;) ).

I want to say 205/50s will keep you close to your rolling diameter,
    but that's the case with going from 15->16, so I'm not sure about
    16->17. Where's that wheel diameter chart when I need it...hold on...

Eh, here's a decent tire size conversion thing.

Originally posted by andy