Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

DIY: Clutch/Flywheel/Rear Main

Well I'm not a certified mechanic so take my advice with a grain of salt kids. I'm not liable for your stupid mistakes.
    Tools:
    High lift jack
    Jack stands
    1/2 and 3/8 inch rachets
    10,12,14,17,19mm sockets
    6mm allen wrench
    14mm open end wrench
    17,10mm 12 point sockets
    Screw driver
    High temperature grease
    Crow bar
    2qts of tranny fluid
    Air tools help a ton...
    Patience
    Personal best time of 4 hours today by myself
    Ok make sure you have everything you need before starting this puppy. Your new clutch should come with a pilot bushing,throw out bearing,clutch alignment tool, pressure plate and clutch disc. First you drain the tranny fluid by taking out the bottom bolt(Drain bolt=blue and Fill bolt=Red 17mm) with just a 3/8 inch rachet.

When it is done draining put the drain bolt back in and snug it up. Then move on to the sway bar. Here is one of the endlinks and it will require a 6mm allen wrench and a 14mm wrench.Remove them both

Then remove the four 14mm bolts that hold the sway bar bushings in place. You can now remove the sway bar.

Then get to work on the subframe. 19mm bolts in blue and 17mm in red.There are four of each. 2x2 on each side.

Here is the rear mount. You need to remove the 4 17mm bolts to get the rear mount off. You can't see the last bolt in this picture but it is above these three.

The front mount is pictured here. Remove the 17mm bolts shown in red and there is one just on the other side of this mount that only needs to be loosened so the mount can swing out of the way to remove the 17mm bolt in blue. Any easy bolt to forget about is the 17mm bolt holding on the starter that has to come out to get the tranny off so remove it while you are over here working on the front mount. Now that pesky subframe should fall right on your face:mbanana: