Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unhappy My car's ride quality/comfort level.

Never owned a lowered car until the time being. I jumped into a great deal on my EP3 and it had mods I'd of ended up doing to it myself anyways.
    I know this is a long post, but I need help since I've no experience or previous non stock suspension EP riding to gauge this against.

Here is what I know it has:
    1. Neuspeed Race Springs
    2. Stock Shocks (inspected and said to be in good condition)
    3. Camber Kit (wheels are straight on and alignment is good)
    4. Front Strut Bar (no idea of brand)
    5. Rear Sway Bar (no idea of brand)
    6. 205/45/16 Tires

I expect harsh, I really do. But there are tiny potholes or bumps in the road that skip my radio and it feels like the car jolted pretty good, although I don't think it bottoms out. It does however beat the living crap out of the piping on my Apex'i N1 exhaust (speed bumps). Turning is mega stiff, like never before experienced there is no roll or swing this is a good thing?

When I took it to a shop that's done some work for me in the past we got it on a lift and confirmed that it is on stock shocks(dampeners, whatever) and the opinion in the shop seemed to be Honda makes great quality abuse resilient shocks and they seemed fine, not busted.

So, is it that my tires are small diameter? I am looking into 215/40/17 which should lift me up somewhat. Or do I possibly have a shock problem and should get Koni shocks or something? Someone on here has my springs on stock shocks with 215/40/17 tires and a body kit and it doesn't look like it would be so bad.

Ahhhh! Help!

Replace the struts and springs with a matched set and the ride should improve greatly. A taller sidewalled tire would also improve the ride. And if you are going with a 17" wheel then you want either a 215-225/45/17
    Last edited by talonXracer; 05-27-2008 at 06:32 PM.
    ALL advice issued with this "Disclaimer"
    Tim "the Toolman" Taylor is my HERO ! ! !