Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

DIY Recaro Door Panels

This DIY is for those of us who refuse to spend hundreds of dollars on the OEM Type-R door panels, or who don't want to scour the internet for weeks and/or months to find a good deal.

I am by no means a professional, and as you can see it was my first attempt at this and is not perfect. However, I believe that following this DIY you yourself can make some improvements and enjoy a new look to brighten up your interior.

Materials:

1. Fabric. Some people get the alcantara suede from Joann fabrics, others find other means. Personally, I purchased the precut authentic Recaro fabric off of club ep3/rsx.
    2. Fabric adhesive.
    3. Masking tape

Tools:

1. A means to tuck the fabric - screwdrivers, chisels, spatulas, etc.
    2. Phillips head screwdriver
    3. Flathead screwdriver (to pop off one of the panels on the doors)

Step 1:
    Using the flathead screwdriver, pop the small panels shown out. There is a small recess made specifically for a flathead. Be careful not to tug too hard and break a clip.

Step 2:
    Remove all of the screws that you see, there are a few so don't miss any!

Step 3:
    Remove silver insert in door handle. There is a small hole in the back of the door handle. Push something in the hole to pop out the silver door trim insert. I used a needle for pumping air. Once the trim piece is popped out, there are a couple more screws that need to come out.

Step 4:
    Remove the door handle and the triangular portion with the window controls on it. The control piece has a wire attached to it, so unclip it from the system.

Step 5:
    Mask off the area you will be spraying with adhesive. It is a wise idea because the spray isn't entirely controllable, and it cuts down on cleanup time. No mess, no fuss!

Step 6: