Close

Thread: Maxxis?

Maxxis?

Hey guys, so I have a friend that can get me a pretty good deal on some tires. I'm not into autocross, yet, so all I need are some decent daily driver tires.

The models are:
    Maxxis - MA-P1: 195/55R15 $400 (set) CAD Shipped
    Maxxis - MA-P1: 205/60R15 $352.16 (Set) CAD Shipped

These are the brands that I don't know and have googled them but there isn't too much info on them. Has anyone ever heard of the brand or bought them before?

OR I can get:
    195/55R15 Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1- $561 CAD Shipped
    195/55R15 Dunlop Direzza DZ101 - $487 CAD Shipped

*Keep in mind that I am a student and cash doesn't come easy =) I will be working full time during the spring and summer though. Should I try the Maxxis or go with those sexy direzza sports?

*Also, I am looking at getting reflash/kpro so I don't mind spending a little less on tires.

Thanks in advance!

I just got my tires 2 weeks ago and did EXTENSIVE research and found some good info. "Yokohama avid trz" supposedly are the best rated for our stock 205/55r16s not sure about the size you have. Those run a 100 each... now the tires i bought for my 17" HFPs are the "continental extreme DWS" tires those are one of the best rated tires. Got those for 480 free shipping on discounttiresdirect.com. Pretty fast delivery i definatly recommend the site they were cheaper than tirerack.com.

I recommend those brands since they are basically the same price top rated and i never heard of the brands you mentioned
    Last edited by barcelon; 04-01-2010 at 08:54 PM.

i haven't heard anything on the maxxis tires outside of their motorcycle tires, this could be either good or bad. from a quick glance it looks as though they model their car tires off other manufactures tread designs. keep in mind that rubber compound affects the way tires handle and just copying a tread design won't help it perform the same.
    for example, those Maxxis - MA-P1 look similar to the falken sns828's..