Close

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Weak points on turbo K20A3

What's up guys.

As some of you know, I'm currently running a bone stock (head and block) K20A3 with a 60-1 Turbonetics Cybernation kit. The car is currently making 322whp/268tq at 8.5-9lbs of boost. I have the fuel cutoff set at 7600rpm (8k readout on the stock tach), because I'm concerned with the stock valvetrain keeping up beyond that.

What I'm wondering, from the people who actually know and HAVE EXPERIENCE, is what would the weak points of that motor will be if I was to turn the boost up (10-12 range) and update the tune. I want to know so that we can plan the tune around these issues as much as possible.

It is my opinion and has been my experience that the A3 is a highly underrated motor. People regularly say that they can't handle more than 300whp, but I have been doing that all day for 4 years with no issues (recent compression test came up fine) To me, it's all in the tune. I have a feeling that a lot of people have blown them because of bad tunes or other issues

If/when this thing blows up, I'll do a K24A1, but I want to see what it can do in the mean time, so please spare me the "just swap it" comments. I'm well aware of what other K-series motors can do.

Sorry for the dissertation, just wanted to give as much info as possible.

ephatch member
    the usual response and past results have shown that it is usually the rods that are the weak link. I watched Ebizzle blow his motor at the track with 338hp on his a3. The rod made a big a$$ hole in the block.

Quote Originally Posted by AUTiger View Post
    the usual response and past results have shown that it is usually the rods that are the weak link. I watched Ebizzle blow his motor at the track with 338hp on his a3. The rod made a big a$$ hole in the block.
    I assume the root cause was the rods themselves and not the rod bearings? What was he revving to? Was there any sign of detonation?