Close

Preserving soft, thin Honda paint

I'm new to the EP3 but not to Hondas or to detailing. Honda paint and that of most Japanese cars tends to be both quite soft and not overly thick. It takes very little to introduce swirls and not much more to create scratches. The most robust solution is a full correction followed by quality (e.g. Xpel Ultimate) clear film but it is far from inexpensive. IMO the next best alternative are paint coatings. I can recommend Optimum Opti-Coat (now on v.2) or CarPro CQuartz UK* from personal experience. While they are not a magic barrier against swirls and scratches they are more protective than waxes or conventional polymer sealants. Also, because they are long lasting (multiple years for Opti-Coat and up to two years for CQ UK) and somewhat dust and water phobic they reduce detailing demands. The less you touch the finish the less chance of introducing swirls. Gtechniq, ArtDeShine, Echelon, Max Protect, Wolf's Chemicals, Nanolex, 22ple and Element 119 System-X are some of the competing brands. I have not used these but ArtDeShine, Max Protect and Echelon have excellent reputations. Some of these you would have to self import as they have no distribution in North American at present. ArtDeShine will be entering the US market in a month or so.

Another option is CarPro HydrO2. This is less long lasting and forms less of a barrier but has a nearly touchless application.

Yet another option are the WOWA (wipe on, walk away) sealants. Optimum Opti-Seal is perhaps the best known of these but Ultima, Zaino, and Blackfire also have WOWA sealants. They involve more touching that HydrO2 but much less than waxes or sealants that have to be buffed off.

One final option are the Prima Hydro series of products. They are not WOWA but they are low touch compared to most traditional sealants, very limited buffing.