Close

LudeMutt's Custom Fiberglass Wing

Hey hatchers,

I have been in the market for a wing for my EP for a while now but the options are very limited. From what I've seen, all we have are:

Stock
    HFP
    CTR
    Mugen
    (Replicas of each)

I really want something like the CCC Racing street wing, kind of a duck bill that goes out farther than the HFP one... So I decided to make my own! I've read a bunch of DIY forum posts on fiberglassing and even though this is my first time working with composites, I feel confident enough (someone remind me I said that in a few weeks when I firebomb my failed project).

Here are the supplies I plan on using (* = purchased just for the project)
    *Styrofoam (insulation, 3 big panels)
    *Bondo fiberglass cloth
    *Bondo fiberglass resin
    *Bondo body filler
    Painter's tape
    PAM (to make the mold break easy)
    Protective surgical gloves
    Respirator
    Dremmel
    Sanding blocks
    Hand saw
    Automotive primer
    Hardware (bolts/ nuts)

Stay tuned for updates!
    Last edited by LudeMutt; 08-17-2013 at 12:20 PM.

Reserved

Don't forget the buddy club wing.. I definitely wanna see you accomplish this so keep us updated

Sounds interesting. Fiberglass is tough, but a material such as fleece has made jobs much easier in the past for me personally. Hope everything goes smooth for you bro.

I will get pictures tomorrow, thanks for the comments guys.

If it goes well, I will consider making a few more. A side-project I want to do is make a smaler wing like the EK CTR one and custom make angle brackets for it. (thoughts?)
    Last edited by Heitzke; 05-07-2009 at 08:49 AM.

This is the styrofoam I got. It's insulation foam and that silver layer peels off real easy.

The first cut

Test Fit

The bottom (carving a concave)

Another test fit

The sides

All taped up!

Wow! You made it look easy! - Your whole sculpting skills are great.